Leicestershire Conservatives elect new leaders

Leicestershire Conservatives elect New Group and Deputy Group Leaders

Nicholas Rushton CC and David Sprason CC have been formally elected as the new Group Leader and Deputy Group Leader of Leicestershire County Council Conservatives, succeeding David Parsons CC.

A motion to the Group proposed by Group Chairman, David Jennings CC, and seconded by Group Chief Whip, Tony Gillard CC, was unanimously supported by the Group.

New Leader, Nick Rushton CC (Valley Division), said, “I am deeply honoured to receive the support of my colleagues. The job of work now must focus on restoring Leicestershire’s reputation. Our opponents will talk about cuts, we will talk about the good things we are doing within the resources we have. My ethos will be to put the people of Leicestershire first in everything we do.

New Deputy Leader, David Sprason CC (Markfield, Desford & Thornton Division), said, “Needless to say, I am honoured to be the Group’s new deputy leader. We need to shift the debate about what we can’t do to what we can: of investing in infrastructure, the importance of fiscal responsibility, investing in superfast broadband, paying down debt and measures to get the housing market back on its feet, for instance, with our £10m Local Authority Mortgage Scheme.”


For further comment please call Nick Rushton on 07837 841441; or David Sprason on 07940 838507.